The organisation of the Prime Minister’s Office
The key responsibilities of the Prime Minister’s Office are to update, counsel and assist the Prime Minister on all international and domestic issues and on questions concerning portfolio tasks, cf. also under the Prime Minister’s Office responsibilities.

The organisation of the Prime Minister’s Office is structured to carry out these different tasks, cf. the organisation chart.

The Prime Minister’s Office consists of a secretariat to the Prime Minister and five divisions. The Prime Minister’s Office also includes the High Commissioner of the Faeroe Islands and the High Commissioner of Greenland.

The Prime Minister’s secretariat is responsible for the daily servicing of the Prime Minister, including contact with the press.

The Foreign Division is responsible for the international area, i.e. issues relating to foreign affairs and international economic issues, including the EU, Nordic cooperation and issues relating to security and defence, including NATO.

The Domestic Division is responsible for domestic policy and economic issues. This division also coordinates material for cabinet meetings, the legislative programme and the Government’s Coordination Committee, cases for the Council of State and the portfolio tasks concerning the North Atlantic area, i.e. Greenland and the Faroe Islands, and the press. Responsibilities relating to the North Atlantic area are dealt with by the North Atlantic Secretariat, which is an integral part of the Domestic Division.

The Law Division is responsible for constitutional law, government formation, various matters concerning ministers, portfolio allocations, matters concerning the right of access to documents and legislation for which the Prime Minister’s Office is responsible. The Law Division also assists the other divisions with legal advice.

The Administrative Division is responsible for all administrative matters of the Prime Minister’s Office. This includes personnel, budget, accounts, IT, records, library, ministerial officers’ room and the canteen. A number of duties are also performed in relation to the ministers (remuneration and pension for ministers), the Royal Family (concerning budgeting, civil list annuity, VAT refunds, etc.), matters pertaining to orders and decorations (recommendation for decorations), etc.

Finally the High Commissioner of the Faeroe Islands and the High Commissioner of Greenland fall under the organisation of the Prime Minister’s Office. The High Commissioners are the Danish Government’s representatives in the Faeroe Islands and in Greenland and are responsible for liaising between the Home Rule authorities and the Danish authorities.

Accept use of cookies

This page uses cookies for statistical purpose and improvement of user experience.

For further information about cookies please see the link below:

Cookie policy